Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

MUSICON 4 – The Clerks

30/01/2018 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

£1.00 – £10.00

Three Heads, One Tale: How the Caput Mass changed music history. The Clerks present a programme including music by Dunstable, Dufay, Ockeghem, Obrecht, and the English Anonymous.

Cathy Bell and Ruth Kiang (alto), Alastair Brookshaw and Roy Rashbrook (tenor), James Arthur and Edward Wickham (bass).

The Miss Caput – composed by an unidentified English composers of the mid-15th century – was one of the most influential works of Renaissance music. It set the template for polyphonic composition for several generations, and directly inspired works by Jean Ockeghem and Jacob Obrecht, which were also in their own way ground-breaking. The mass is based on a highly virtuosic and floric English chant for Maundy Thursday, and this programme tells the story of its creation, its influence and the detective work carried out by 20th century scholarship which revealed its origins.

Supported by the Radcliffe Trust.


Important Event Information

Doors Open: 7:00 pm
Ticket Prices: Standard £10, Student £4, Under 18 £1
Music Durham Member Tickets: MD discount not available
Ticket Availability: Tickets available online until 5pm on the day of the concert
Ticket Delivery: eTicket printed or displayed on phone.
Accessibility: Please get in touch to confirm arrangements



7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
£1.00 – £10.00
Event Categories:


Music Department
Palace Green
Durham, DH1 3RL


The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available