Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.


26/02/2017 @ 7:30 pm - 10:00 pm

£1 – £10

Ives Ensemble

Anton WebernDrei kleine Stücke, opus 11

Arnold SchönbergSechs kleine Klavierstücke, opus 19

Charles IvesA Set of Three Short Pieces

Morton FeldmanPiano and String Quartet

The final evening of “either end of the SCALE” sees another of Morton Feldman’s hauntingly beautiful long creations, the 75-minute Piano and String Quartet. Here we find Feldman at his most lyrical and restrained, pairing a magical translucency with the subtlest harmonic and rhythmical shadings found in contemporary music. Considering it his favourite piece, the composer summarized the work as “the history of the speed of a broken chord”, and claimed that it had “everything I always wanted”. The first half of the concert features exquisite pieces by composers that were of immense influence on Feldman’s thinking. The brief masterworks by Webern, Schoenberg and Ives form a perfect gateway to the expansiveness of Feldman’s musical landscape. This concert, performed by MUSICON regulars the Ives Ensemble, is an evening that will remain in any music lover’s memory for a long time to come.

Important Event Information

Doors Open: 6:30 pm
Ticket Prices: Adults £10.00, Students £4.00, Under 18s £1.00
Music Durham Member Tickets: Please log in for Music Durham Member discount
Ticket Availability:   Tickets will be sold via this page until midday on Friday 24th Feb.
Ticket Delivery:  eTicket (print at home or display on mobile)
Accessibility: Please get in touch to confirm arrangements


7:30 pm - 10:00 pm
£1 – £10
Event Category:


Music Department
Palace Green
Durham, DH1 3RL


The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available