Loading Events

DUOS – Symphony Orchestra

  • This event has passed.

5 December 2015 7:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Elvet Methodist Church
8 Old Elvet, Durham. DH1 3HL

Durham University Orchestral Society continues its season with the first performance from the Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Lewis Wilkinson. The programme begins with the Eastern exoticism of one of Russia’s great composers and journeys to America with Dvorak’s most popular work. Along the way we stop in France, where Clementine Metcalfe will play Chausson’s beautiful Poeme, and England where we celebrate the 70th anniversary of Britten’s first Opera, Peter Grimes.


Borodin: The Overture to Prince Igor

Chausson: Poeme for Violin and Orchestra (Soloist: Clementine Metcalfe)

Britten: Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes


Dvorak: Symphony No. 9 ‘From the New World’


Online sales have now finished. A limited number of tickets are available on the door at £10 (£6 Student/Concession)


5 December 2015
7:30 pm - 10:00 pm
£5 – £10
Event Category:


Elvet Methodist Church
8 Old Elvet, Durham. DH1 3HL + Google Map